MENU

Gifted Services

Spring Identification Timeline for Elementary Gifted Services for the Highly Gifted Program:
· During March, 2017, gifted services staff will be reviewing test scores for all students in grades 2, 3, and 4 to identify students who will begin receiving gifted services in the fall 2017.
· Parents of students who qualify will be notified via email at the end of March.
· If a child does not qualify for elementary gifted services via test scores, parents may request for their child to do a portfolio assessment to be completed at school under the supervision of the school’s gifted specialist. The deadline to apply for an elementary gifted services portfolio is April 19, 2017; contact your school’s gifted specialist to apply. Portfolios will be completed by May 10. Parents will be notified by the end of May as to whether their child’s portfolio met or did not meet the criteria to qualify for elementary gifted services.
· Students in grade 4 will also be identified for the highly gifted program for the fall 2018 school year. Parents may find CogAT scores on Skyward on April 7. Parents of qualified students will be notified via email by April 15.
· If a child does not qualify for the highly gifted program, parents may request to take the CogAT on August 3, 2017. The deadline to register is, July 14, 2017.
Contact: Carrie Carstensen, secretary, at CaCarstensen@Rochester,k12.mn.us to register. Or call 507-328-4299.

Options for RPS and non-public 5th-grade students to qualify for the Highly Gifted Program at Friedell:

Opportunities to Qualify for the Highly Gifted Program:
· RPS Fourth-grade Students will take the CogAT test from January 30-March 3, 2017. Contact your school for exact dates.
· Non-Public Fourth-grade Students may take the CogAT on February 28, 2017. Deadline to register is February 10, 2017.
· There will be additional CogAT testing on August 3, 2017. The deadline to register is July 14, 2017.
Contact: Kim Reid at KiReid@rochester.k12.mn.us or Carrie Carstensen, secretary, at CaCarstensen@Rochester,k12.mn.us to register. Or call 507-328-4299.

Parent Information Nights:  6:00-8:00 pm, Kellogg Middle School Auditorium (Note change of time and location)
Elementary: September 29, 2016
Middle School: April 20, 2017 (Includes information about RAMP)
High School: December 1, 2017

Highly Gifted Selection Process Delayed until February 8, 2017:
A high number of students qualified for the highly gifted program for the coming year.  A proposal to expand the program by offering more sections, to be located at Kellogg Middle School,  was brought to the School Board on December 13, 2016.  On January 17, the School Board heard more information about the proposed expansion.  On February 7, the board will decide whether or not to expand the program.  The original date for the random selection process for the highly gifted program was to be January 20. The selection process will be moved to February 8, 2017.

If there is an HG program at Kellogg, it will mirror the Friedell program.  Staff at both schools are prepared to work closely together.  Kellogg teachers and administrators are excited be part of the proposed expansion.

Students with siblings currently attending Friedell will have preference to attend Friedell.  There will be two separate selection processes, one for the Friedell program and one for the program at Kellogg.

Parents will be notified via email on February 8 and 9. 



Monica Bowler
Principal on Special Assignment
mobowler@rochester.k12.mn.us

Carrie Carstensen
Gifted Services Secretary
507-328-4299
cacarstensen@rochester.k12.mn.us



Elementary

Colleen Sallee
Bamber Valley
cosallee@rochester.k12.mn.us


Laura Heuton
Folwell, Churchill/Hoover
laheuton@rochester.k12.mn.us
 
Kim Reid
Washington, Gage
kireid@rochester.k12.mn.us

Brian Lynch
Gibbs
brlynch@rochester.k12.mn.us
 
Carrie Johnson
Franklin, Montessori at Franklin                
cajohnson2@rochester.k12.mn.us

Vandi King
Longfellow, Lincoln
vaking@rochester.k12.mn.us

Jackie Tilburt
Bishop, Jefferson
jatilburt@rochester.k12.mn.us

Katelyn Wadewitz
Gage, Riveside, Elton Hills
kawadewitz@rochester.k12.mn.us 

Jessica Tewalt
Sunset Terrace, Pinewood, Bamber Valley
jetewalt@rochester.k12.mn.us
 



Middle School 

Daniel Mansfield
Kellogg          
damansfield@rochester.k12.mn.us


Joanne Michet
Friedell
jomichet@rochester.k12.mn.us           
 
Denise Cooksey-Seabarkrob
John Adams, Willow Creek
decookseyseabarkrob@rochester.k12.mn.us

Vandi King
Lincoln
vaking@rochester.k12.mn.us




High School

Shane Baker
Century         
shbaker@rochester.k12.mn.us
                      

Denise Cobb
John Marshall
decobb@rochester.k12.mn.us            
 
Chris Smith
Mayo
chsmith@rochester.k12.mn.us




The National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) defines Gifted Individuals as “those who demonstrate outstanding levels of aptitude (defined as an exceptional ability to reason and learn) or competence (documented performance or achievement in top 10% or rarer) in one or more domains. Domains include any structured area of activity with its own symbol system (e.g., mathematics, music, language) and/or set of sensorimotor skills (e.g., painting, dance, sports). The mission of the Rochester Public Schools Gifted Services department is to create an environment in which the full potential of the gifted and talented learner is recognized, encouraged, and nurtured. 

 

The Gifted Services Department has a teacher in all buildings to support students through direct instruction, differentiation support for teachers, and the administration of grade and subject acceleration. Our objective is to support students, families, and teachers. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of our team. 


Our Mission Statement
"Creating an environment in which the full potential of the gifted and talented learner is recognized, encouraged and nurtured"

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.

Rochester Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, or disability.