Office of Student Advancement (Gifted Services)

Our Mission Statement:

"Creating an environment in which the full potential of the gifted and talented learner is recognized, encouraged and nurtured"

The National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) defines Gifted Individuals as “those who demonstrate outstanding levels of aptitude (defined as an exceptional ability to reason and learn) or competence (documented performance or achievement in top 10% or rarer) in one or more domains. Domains include any structured area of activity with its own symbol system (e.g., mathematics, music, language) and/or set of sensorimotor skills (e.g., painting, dance, sports). The mission of the Rochester Public Schools Gifted Services department is to create an environment in which the full potential of the gifted and talented learner is recognized, encouraged, and nurtured. 


The Office of Student Advancement (Gifted Services) Department has a Gifted Specialist in all buildings to support students through direct instruction, differentiation support for teachers, and the administration of grade and subject acceleration. Our objective is to support students, families, and teachers. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of our team. 

Monica Bowler
Principal on Special Assignment

Sheila Rainey
Gifted Services Secretary

CogAT Testing

February 28, 2018  
          CogAT testing for non-RPS grade 4 students who will be in grade 6 for the 2019-2020 school year wish to be identified for the highly gifted program in Rochester Public Schools.  Register by February 14, 2018.  For this CogAT, contact Kim Reid  at   Note: All grade 4 RPS students take the CogAT in January or February

 August 15, 2018
               CogAT  for students who will be in grades 5, 6, 7 and 8 in the 2018-2019 school year.  This test is used for identification of students for the Highly Gifted Program at Friedell and Kellogg.

Register by August 3, 2018.  To register for the CogAT, call Sheila Rainey at 328-4299 or email


Colleen Sallee
Bamber Valley

Laura Heuton
Folwell, Churchill | Hoover

Kim Reid
Washington, Riverside

Brian Lynch

Carrie Johnson
Franklin, Montessori at Franklin, Pinewood   

Vandi King
Longfellow, Lincoln

Jackie Tilburt
Elton Hills, Jefferson

Lydia Larson
Gage, Bishop 

Jessica Tewalt
Sunset Terrace, Bamber Valley


Middle School 

Daniel Mansfield

Joanne Michet
Denise Cooksey-Seabarkrob
John Adams, Willow Creek

Vandi King

High School

Cynthia Heim

Denise Cobb
John Marshall     
Chris Smith



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.

Rochester Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, or disability.