MENU

Office of Student Advancement (Gifted Services)

Our Mission Statement:

"Creating an environment in which the full potential of the gifted and talented learner is recognized, encouraged and nurtured"


The National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) defines Gifted Individuals as “those who demonstrate outstanding levels of aptitude (defined as an exceptional ability to reason and learn) or competence (documented performance or achievement in top 10% or rarer) in one or more domains. Domains include any structured area of activity with its own symbol system (e.g., mathematics, music, language) and/or set of sensorimotor skills (e.g., painting, dance, sports). The mission of the Rochester Public Schools Gifted Services department is to create an environment in which the full potential of the gifted and talented learner is recognized, encouraged, and nurtured. 

 

The Office of Student Advancement (Gifted Services) Department has a Gifted Specialist in all buildings to support students through direct instruction, differentiation support for teachers, and the administration of grade and subject acceleration. Our objective is to support students, families, and teachers. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of our team. 




Monica Bowler
Principal on Special Assignment
mobowler@rochester.k12.mn.us

Sheila Rainey
Gifted Services Secretary
shrainey@rochester.k12.mn.us



CogAT Testing

February 28, 2018  
          CogAT testing for non-RPS grade 4 students who will be in grade 6 for the 2019-2020 school year wish to be identified for the highly gifted program in Rochester Public Schools.  Register by February 14, 2018.  For this CogAT, contact Kim Reid  at Kireid@rochester.k12.mn.us   Note: All grade 4 RPS students take the CogAT in January or February

 August 15, 2018
               CogAT  for students who will be in grades 5, 6, 7 and 8 in the 2018-2019 school year.  This test is used for identification of students for the Highly Gifted Program at Friedell and Kellogg.

Register by August 3, 2018.  To register for the CogAT, call Sheila Rainey at 328-4299 or email shrainey@rochester.k12.mn.us




Elementary

Colleen Sallee
Bamber Valley
cosallee@rochester.k12.mn.us


Laura Heuton
Folwell, Churchill | Hoover
laheuton@rochester.k12.mn.us

 
Kim Reid
Washington, Riverside
kireid@rochester.k12.mn.us


Brian Lynch
Gibbs
brlynch@rochester.k12.mn.us

 
Carrie Johnson
Franklin, Montessori at Franklin, Pinewood             cajohnson2@rochester.k12.mn.us

Vandi King
Longfellow, Lincoln
vaking@rochester.k12.mn.us

Jackie Tilburt
Elton Hills, Jefferson
jatilburt@rochester.k12.mn.us

Lydia Larson
Gage, Bishop
lylarson@rochester.k12.mn.us 

Jessica Tewalt
Sunset Terrace, Bamber Valley
jetewalt@rochester.k12.mn.us

 



Middle School 

Daniel Mansfield
Kellogg          
damansfield@rochester.k12.mn.us


Joanne Michet
Friedell
jomichet@rochester.k12.mn.us   
       
 
Denise Cooksey-Seabarkrob
John Adams, Willow Creek
decookseyseabarkrob@rochester.k12.mn.us


Vandi King
Lincoln 
vaking@rochester.k12.mn.us




High School

Cynthia Heim
Century
CYHEIM@rochester.k12.mn.us
 
              

Denise Cobb
John Marshall
decobb@rochester.k12.mn.us     
      
 
Chris Smith
Mayo
chsmith@rochester.k12.mn.us



 

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.

Rochester Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, or disability.